#54 Part 1/3: Boredom in Beijing

What’s up guys! I missed having Facebook and WordPress and Twitter and Youtube! And I’m finally back in school. I’ve been in Beijing for about 8-9 days and I just got back to school on Monday. I missed Singapore! (Never thought I’d say that, but…)

1. The air is China is bad. Wayyyyyyy bad. There’s smog, and there’s willow seeds, which look like little furry balls, and there’s smoking. Hell, they even smoke indoors, and I thought I was gonna die from choking on the bad air.

2. The food is… I mean, some of the food there is really tasty! But most of it was too salty or too spicy for my liking. ): And the way they name their food gives you a heart attack. Squirrel fish?!?! (It really looked like a squirrel and I thought I was gonna hyperventilate on the spot.) Cold skin that looked like some exotic animal’s skin?! And some was just… duck tongue and duck neck and just, no.

3. The hotel was crappy.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

They had a 财神爷 (God of Fortune) in the lobby and the wifi password is like eight eights.

Also, the hotel service there was crap. Like, you thought Singapore service standard was bad? I never know until I got to China that I was living in bliss. I came back to Singapore and made it a point to smile at everyone. Even the hotel breakfast there was crap. Maybe I was living in a really lousy hotel, but the dishes were all cold and icky and tasteless.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

And a pretty photo of our life saving coffee from Paris Baguette. It was the ONLY café that was open at 7.30 in the morning.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

4. The traffic is utter crap. Where the fuck are the rules in China?! Everyone is just like, fuck you, I’m gonna go my way, and if you have the guts you can knock into my car. And they’re like, fuck pedestrians, if you have guts you can stand in my way. IT WAS THAT BAD.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

I love Singapore!!!! Never thought I’d say that.

5. No Facebook. Well. I don’t use it much, but Facebook is still my number one source of high quality trashy news (compared to Stomp) and I was SO BORED during the nights I was waiting for my hair to dry. And I know we can use proxy servers, but I’m an IT noob and it takes too much effort. Plus, no Twitter, no Youtube, no WordPress. Hell.

So anyway, we were there for the Dolby Champions training in Beijing, and it was being held in the Communications University of China (CUC). Spent the first day just setting up the place, and arranging stuff to fit our needs.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Setting up the surround sound system

Processed with VSCOcam

Processed with VSCOcam with b1 preset

Introducing the Avid S6:

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

We were one of the lucky people who got to touch this console in Asia haha. I think it’s supposedly the only one in Beijing, and it hasn’t been introduced in Singapore yet! So, yeah. We weren’t one of the students, but we still got to touch it here and there haha. They even taught us how to use it, but unfortunately, I was experiencing extreme fatigue from not being able to fall asleep on my midnight flight.

Shag. Halfway through the lesson, I couldn’t take it and we made our way back to the hotel, where I had a good 3 hours of sleep.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

After that, we joined the rest of the Dolby team and their students for dinner and they had this giant plate of sashimi. Gigantic. We were at a table for about 16 and it took up a quarter of the table. Fucking awesome. Especially after I had concussed for 3 hours – I was starving.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

They had like salmon and tuna and prawns and sea urchins. Best.

So, for the next few days, I spent my time with the Dolby team and they had lectures and practical lessons on live mixing, down-mixing, theory lessons on 5.1 and all. I was basically having lessons in Beijing! I really wanted to explore the place though, I felt a little sad I only had half a day towards the end of our trip haha.

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

Day 2: Briefing with the students

Processed with VSCOcam with b1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

Lessons

SAMSUNG CSC

They had Geoff, our lecturer over to teach the students, as well as Constantin, a German sound engineer – he does shows like Germany’s Got Talent, and German Idol and all. Real boss. Plus, the angmohs don’t seem to age much. What the hell man, he’s 41 and he looks 30-odd.

The Chinese are really great hosts, so we never really go hungry. Unfortunately, I was too paiseh to take much photos of the food haha. We had a large variety of food over the week, and they even prepared little snacks for tea-breaks and brunch!

SAMSUNG CSC

And finally, the Dolby Champions training ended halfway through our trip - they all received certificates, and there was a great deal of photo-taking that involved standing on chairs, and moving all the random useless stuff around to make space…

Processed with VSCOcam with b1 preset

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

That wasn’t really the end though. That’s in Part 2/3!

Leave a Reply

